The stage is set. Jamshedpur FC vs Kerala Blasters FC – Two top teams lock horns in the first semi-final of this season’s Indian Super League tonight in Goa, India.

These two teams used to struggle in the Indian Super League in the past seasons, and the fans were disappointed in the team. Right now, they are the strongest teams in the ISL, and when they face each other, the intensity will be high above the skies. 

Jamshedpur were crowned the new League Shield champions by topping the table. Owen Coyle’s team was the best by some distance as they finished with 43 points from 20 matches, having won 13, drawn four and lost just three.

Jamshedpur had a mixed start to the season, winning six of the first 13 matches, losing three and drawing four. However, after that 3-1 loss to Bengaluru FC, they changed gears and went on a winning spree, winning all seven matches to top the group.

They will meet Kerala Blasters in the semis. The two played out a 1-1 draw in their first meeting on the league stage, but Jamshedpur won the second match 3-0.

Facing a side the Blasters have managed to beat only once in their last 10 meetings (D6 L3), Vukomanovic stated, “They are a physically tough team. Now, it’s a new chapter, there is a new fight, it’s a new day so it will be different.”

However, he added, “We are very confident. If you want to win games and if you want to be stronger than your opponent, you have to be tough. Our opponent has been like this throughout the league and you want to beat this type of team, you have to go like this only.”

Jamshedpur FC is playing their first semi-final in the Indian Super League. They qualified for the semis finishing on top of the league table with 43 points and 13 wins. They made an ISL record; it is the highest by a team for a season.

After the first leg, the teams will return for the second on March 15.

Head to Head:

Matches played: 10

Jamshedpur wins: 3

Kerala Blasters wins: 1

Draws: 6

Predicted XIs:

Jamshedpur FC (4-2-3-1): TP Rehenesh (GK); Laldinliana Renthlei, Eli Sabia, Peter Hartley, Ricky Lallawmawma; Pranoy Halder, Jitendra Singh; Len Doungel, Greg Stewart, Ritwik Das; Daniel Chima Chukwu

Kerala Blasters FC (4-2-2-2): Prabsukhan Gill (GK); Harmanjot Khabra, Ruivah Hormipam, Marko Leskovic, Sanjeev Stalin; Puitea, Jeakson Singh; Sahal Abdul Samad, Adrian Luna; Alvaro Vazquez, Jorge Pereyra Diaz

Semi-finals schedule and timings:

Semi-final 1 first leg:

Jamshedpur FC vs Kerala Blasters FC — 11 March — 7:30 PM IST — PJN Stadium, Fatorda